AAMSE Announces 2018 Class of Recognized Fellows

St. Paul, Minn. (August 10, 2018) – The American Association of Medical Society Executives (AAMSE) annually recognizes a select number of its members who have demonstrated a commitment to professional medical society management by honoring them as Recognized Fellows. AAMSE’s Recognized Fellows program distinguishes a unique group of individuals who are dedicated to continuing their professional development, and have distinguished themselves through exceptional leadership and service among their colleagues and communities.
Qualifications for recognition include: employment tenure within a medical society, professional development activities, articles and presentations delivered, serving as an officer or chair of AAMSE committees or workgroups and community service activities that support medical and health care in applicants’ communities. AAMSE launched the program in 2017.
The 2018 Recognized Fellows includes five AAMSE members:
Bryan Campbell, Duval County Medical Society (Jacksonville, Fla.) – Campbell has served as the CEO of the Duval County Medical Society since 2012, having served the previous six years with the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists.
Jay Millson, Florida Academy of Family Physicians (Jacksonville, Fla.) – Millson is currently the executive vice president at the Florida Academy of Family Physicians and is also active in his community chairing the Northeast Florida Health Planning Council.  He served as AAMSE President in 2011 and has worked in organized medicine his entire career of over 25 years.  
Jon Rosell, Kansas Medical Society (Topeka, Kan.) – Rosell is the executive director at the Kansas Medical Society, and served as AAMSE president in 2017. He has also been active on the County and State CEO Planning Committees and has served his community with leadership roles in a number of local healthcare and business organizations.
Steve Smith, American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (Chicago, Ill.) – The current AAMSE President-Elect, Smith is the CEO of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. He is also an active volunteer, serving on community, alumni and professional boards in Chicago.
Aileen Wetzel, Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society (Sacramento, Calif.) – Wetzel has been the CEO of the Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society since 2011, having spent the previous 12 years at the California Medical Association.  She serves on AAMSE’s Annual Conference Planning Committee and on the AAMSE Board of Directors.
“In these difficult times for American physicians, medical societies play a critical role in supporting their members and the patients they serve,” said Steve Levine, president of AAMSE. “It takes outstanding leaders, like this year’s group of AAMSE Recognized Fellows, for our organizations to meet that challenge.”
Applications for the 2019 AAMSE Recognized Fellows will open in November. Find more information on the program at the AAMSE website.