AMA names a new president

Susan Bailey, MD, has been named the new president of American Medical Association, the group announced June 8 at the AMA’s annual meeting in Chicago. Bailey is an allergist and immunologist from Fort Worth, Texas, and she will serve as president-elect for a year before assuming the office in June 2020.

Her election marks the third consecutive time the leader of the industry group has served as a woman physician. Bailey was preceded by Barbara McAneny, MD, and Patrice Harris, MD.

“It is a deep honor and privilege to be named president-elect of an organization that is committed to helping the medical profession and the patients we serve,” Bailey said in her acceptance speech. “Challenging times remain for the health care system and as AMA president-elect, I pledge to serve as a strong voice and dedicated advocate for patients and physicians on the pressing healthcare issues confronting our nation.”

Bailey has more than 30 years of clinical practice and has been practicing allergy and clinical immunology in Texas since 1998. She has also served on the AMA board of trustees since 2011 as vice speaker and speaker of the house of delegates, which is the primary policy-making body of the organization.

In addition, Bailey has held several other leadership positions with AMA, including serving two terms on the AMA Council on Medical Education, serving as a member of the AMA’s Advisory Panel to the Women in Medicine Project and the AMA’s Ad Hoc Committee on Women Physicians.

Prior to becoming an officer at AMA, Bailey was president of the Texas Medical Association and Tarrant County Medical Society.

In addition to Bailey's appointment, the AMA named Bruce A. Scott, MD, an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Kentucky, as the new speaker of the AMA House of Delegates.